Bath Rotary Awards Scholarships
Nine graduating seniors from two area schools were awarded $8500 collectively by the Bath Rotary Club as part of the organization’s continuing commitment to help students further their education.
The students, accompanied by their parents, were honored by the local club on May 18 at its Annual Scholarship Recognition Luncheon held in Lyons Hall of the First Presbyterian Church of Bath.  Also recognized as guests of this memorable and celebratory event were: Rotary District 7120 Governor, Ralph E. Brandt, Jr.; Roy and Sandra Hepler, members of the Dr. Frank E. Nicklaus family; Tim Gallagher and Lyndsay Wolfe, Bath-Haverling Central School Guidance Counselors; James Derr, Hammondsport Central School Guidance Counselor.  The students were lauded for their outstanding academic achievement and extraordinary involvement in school and community activities, including service projects.
The program began with a welcome by Elaine Tears, Chairperson of the Bath Rotary Student Fund, Inc., the scholarship arm of the local club and was followed by an inspirational invocation by John Gould, a member of the BRSF, Inc. Board of Directors; the singing of “Rotary Bonds” led by Cheryl Muller, a member of the BRSF, Inc. Board of Directors; the Pledge of Allegiance led by Tess McKinley, Bath Rotary Club President and also a member of the BRSF, Inc. Board of Directors.
After a bountiful salad bar, provided by Around the Corner Catering, Tears introduced the recipients and stated the scholarship each had been awarded.  The students then introduced their parents who were in attendance.
The awards, including the recipients’ high school and college plans are as follows:
   Frank E. Nicklaus Memorial Scholarship ($1500 each)
  1. Ethan Buckley; Hammondsport Central School; SUNY Fredonia; Sound Recording Technology
  2. Chelsey Stewart; Bath-Haverling Central School; Mansfield University; Early Childhood and Special Education
  3. Blake Wright; Hammondsport Central School; University of Alabama; Marketing
   Ted Markham Memorial Scholarship (Student must be entering the field of
        environmental studies, agricultural studies, or a related study.) ($1000)
  1. Stefania Tears; Hammondsport Central School; Alfred State College; Veterinary Technician
   Vern Woolston Memorial Scholarship (Student must be entering the field of social
        work or human services.) ($1000)
  1. Molly Wright; Bath-Haverling Central School; Keuka College; Nursing
                 Bath Rotary Club Scholarship ($500 each)
  1. Cadence Butler; Hammondsport Central School; SUNY Geneseo; Biochemistry
  2. Christopher Hill; Hammondsport Central School; Rochester Institute of Technology; Mechanical Engineering
  3. Kelsey Thorp; Bath-Haverling Central School; Clarks Summit University; Education
   Interact Scholarship ($500)
  1. Cady Hill; Bath-Haverling Central School; Corning Community College; Business
Muller presented the recipients with a sign stating “A Bath Rotary Scholarship Winner
Lives Here” to be placed in their front yards.  Muller will also attend the Bath-Haverling and Hammondsport Central Schools’ Award Assemblies in order to recognize the scholarship recipients.
The Board of Directors for the Bath Rotary Student Fund Inc., who enjoyed reading and rating the applications submitted by the students, include: Elaine Tears, Chairperson; Joanne Sheehan, Secretary; Jane Russell, Treasurer; John Gould, who also sponsored the Vern Woolston Memorial Scholarship; Tess McKinley; Cheryl Muller; Benita Nesbitt.
Frank E. Nicklaus Memorial Scholarships – Sitting left to right: James Derr, Benita Nesbitt, Ethan Buckley, Chelsey Stewart, Blake Wright, Sandra Hepler, and Roy Hepler.  Standing left to right are: Kristi Foote, Salina Buckley, Jeremy Stewart, Heidi Stewart, Robert Wright, and Tanya Wright.
Bath Rotary Club Scholarships – Sitting left to right are: Elaine Tears, DG Ralph Brandt, Jr., Cadence Butler, Christopher Hill, Kelsey Thorp, and Tess McKinley.  Standing left to right are: Richard Butler, Laura Butler, David Hill, Wendy Hill, Benjamin Thorp, and Christina Thorp.
Ted Markham Memorial Scholarship, Vern Woolston Memorial Scholarship, and Interact Scholarship – Sitting left to right are: Lyndsay Wolfe, John Gould, Stefania Tears, Molly Wright, Cady Hill, Cheryl Muller, and Tim Gallagher.  Standing left to right are: Jason Tears, Becky Bennett-Tears, Susan Wright, Brad Hill, Meagan Hill, and Jane Russell.